Poetry Scurvy

Oh, I love this! Couldn’t resist!!

Graeme Sandford

Image

I am not worthy:

I suffer from poetry scurvy!

Too many times

I have forsaken the rhymes

That to me are like limes.

 

I come out in blotches… and rashes… splotches and spots…

If I don’t write, and recite, poetry… lots!

 

It’s like a maddening disease,

I cough and I sneeze…

Give me some poetry, please!

 

Read to me of the Ancient’s Rime,

Or, give me, but world enough and time

Then this shakiness, lady, would be no crime,

For I could pen a line or two,

And dedicate my verse to you,

Jot a Limerick, neat and quick,

Or create for you

A perfectly good Haiku –

That would surely do the trick!

 

But, as it is, I’m fairly sure

My fevered brow will dare no more

To put down words for others’ pleasure;

Buried deep is my lyrical treasure.

 

No ‘X’ marks the…

View original post 189 more words

One thought on “Poetry Scurvy

Leave a Reply

