“It’s The Walking Dead, Yo!”

TWD BannerCan you believe it?  Only 41 more days until season five begins and I’m so excited, I just can’t hide it!  “The Walking Dead” is my focus for the week, so if you’re not a fan, oh well…too bad.

I’ve been beating my head against the wall trying to figure out what I’m going to write for this first post.  I want to try to do some character profiles at some point but, I think this time I will focus on the show as a whole.

Walking Dead Comic Cover“The Walking Dead” started as a comic book series created by “Robert Kirkman”, “Tony Moore” and “Charlie Adlard”.  I’m not a real big comic book reader, but I managed to check out a few issues after I started watching the show and I was surprised at how they tried to keep the series true to the original storyline.  Kudos to you guys!  Awesome job.

When I heard it was going to air on “AMC”, I was thinking, “Prime-time? Really?  Impossible!” but, with me being a hardcore zombie fanatic, I couldn’t possibly pass up watching it but, I have to be honest,  I didn’t really expect much.  Sorry “AMC”, with that being said, “AMC” is quickly becoming the network for ‘crazy’ shows, and when I say “crazy’, I don’t necessarily mean bad.

CDC explosionAfter they aired the first episode on October 31st, 2010, which was a perfect way to spend a Halloween night, I was like, “Yo, that was dope!” I was actually surprised it was as good as it was.  I don’t know what their budget was for Zombie Onethe first season but I’m telling ya’, I thought the special FX and makeup were fantastic. like major feature film caliber.

Greg Nicotero, was not only an executive producer of the show but he was the key special effects makeup artist too, and man, what an amazing job he did. Whatever he was paid, he was worth every penny as far as I’m concerned.

Okay, every horror film, or television show has to have a creepy theme, and the Walking Dead Theme Song was composed by “Bear McCreary”.  I don’t know where he came up with the inspiration for the music, but I’m sure it will be remembered for many years to come, like the creepy theme from “Halloween”. (My cheap imitation of poetic prose.)

AMC announced, according to “Wikipedia”, they are developing a companion series to the show following a different set of characters also created by “Robert Kirkman”.  It’s expected to debut in 2015.  Not sure what it’s going to be like, but if it’s anything like “The Walking Dead” it will be worth a watch.

Now, I can’t talk about TWD without mentioning “The Talking Dead” hosted by “Chris Hardwick” disTalking Dead Chris Hardwickcussing the latest episodes with fans, actors and  producers.  If you haven’t checked it out yet, I would suggest you do so.

There are so many more things to be said, but that will come in due time.  Oh, and if you guys ever need more zombies to kill, I’m available anytime.

 

One thought on ““It’s The Walking Dead, Yo!”

Leave a Reply

